Home / Latest News / Pakistan / Govt, Taliban committees to meet in Islamabad today

Govt, Taliban committees to meet in Islamabad today

ISLAMABAD, (SANA): JUI-S Amir Maulana Samiul Haq contacted coordinator of government negotiation committee Irfan Siddique and agreed to hold meeting of both committees at 2:00 pm today (Tuesday). While talking to a private TV channel Irfan Siddiqui said government committee is ready to holding meeting with Taliban committee at any place.

Members of the government and Taliban committee have expressed their resolve for serious dialogue to overcome the issue of terrorism and bring peace in the country.

It was stated by Advisor to the Prime Minister Irfan Siddiqui and Maulana Sami ul Haq while talking on telephone today. Sami ul Haq also talked to another member of the committee Majore Retired Aamir on the issue.

Later, Irfan Siddiqui told that government is desirous to begin dialogue at the earliest. He said Maulana Sami ul Haq has expressed same intention.

He said the government committee is waiting for a green regarding time and place from Taliban committee to commence the dialogue. He hoped that a contact with other members of the government committee will be established by tonight which will help determine the time, place and agenda for the dialogue.

Irfan Siddiqui said the government has no objection on the formation of Taliban committee and it wants no role in its formation. He said we have nothing to do with the personalities sitting in the Taliban committee but we want to have a positive and concrete dialogue. He said we are heading towards right direction with all sincerity.

Maulana Sami ul Haq said that Taliban is serious to hold positive dialogue with an intention of a forward movement towards estalbishing peace.

During the conversation, Maulana Samiul Haq informed Ifran Siddiqui that they were serious about the dialogue process. Mulana Samiul Haq also spoke with Major (retd) Muhammad Aamir.

The government’s committee comprises Irfan Siddiqui, Major (retd) Aamir, Rahimullah Yousafzai and Rustam Shah Mohmand. The Taliban have nominated Maulana Samiul Haq, Professor Ibraheem, Mufti Kifayatullah, Maulana Abdul Aziz and Imran Khan. However, the PTI chairman has not announced if he will be part of the Taliban’s committee.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.